Award winners, supervisors — I salute your excellence

  • Published
  • By Col. Greg Touhill
  • 81st Training Wing command
The 81st Training Wing annual awards banquet was Feb. 21, and I want take this opportunity to once again congratulate the outstanding individuals in our wing. It was a great celebration of excellence and camaraderie!

Our wing awards is one way we recognize those who've so excelled in their support of the Air Force mission. The winners clearly went above and beyond and epitomize our Air Force core values of integrity, service, and excellence in all they do. Kudos to you all!

It's been said excellence isn't a skill but an attitude. One of the Air Force's core values, "excellence in all we do," emphasizes just this. It's a real pleasure to see those who've taken it to heart, the award winners AND their supervisors.

I mention both the award winners and their supervisors because being an award winner not only means having done an extraordinary job, but also having a supervisor who recognizes your efforts. I am firmly convinced that behind every major award winner stands a great supervisor who stands smiling in the background with a special pride for their subordinate. They ought to be congratulated too. So, today I want to salute our award winners along with their supervisors.

Civilian category I -- Meleta Hand, 81st Medical Group. Supervisor: Capt. Martha Hainey.

Civilian category II -- Patti Holliman, 81st Civil Engineer Squadron. Supervisor: Kristen Vollbrecht.

Civilian supervisory category I -- Arnold Olier, 81st CES. Supervisor: Master Sgt. Aubrey Goff.

Civilian spervisory category II -- Larry Tabor, 81st TRW. Supervisor: Col. Richard Pierce.

First sergeant -- Master Sgt. Christopher Rash, 81st Aerospace Medicine Squadron. Supervisor: Col. Kenneth Levin.

Airman -- Senior Airman Adam Smith, 81st CES. Supervisor: Master Sgt. Jacob Peetz.

Company grade officer -- Capt. Mishaun Johnson, 81st Comptroller Squadron. Supervisor: Lt. Col. Robert Gurner.

Field grade officer -- Maj. Leo Lawson Jr., 333rd Training Squadron. Supervisor: Lt. Col. Kay Spannuth.

Noncommissioned officer -- Staff Sgt. Ladarian Outsey, 81st Training Support Squadron. Supervisor: Senior Master Sgt. Richard Skripek.

Senior NCO -- Master Sgt. Lonnie Bacon, 81st CES. Supervisor: Maj. Patrick Breaux.

Honor guard program manager -- Master Sgt. Andrea Turner, 81st Mission Support Group. Supervisor: James Taylor.

Once again, my heartiest congratulations to each and every one of you. Your efforts have ensured Keesler is coming back better than ever!