On base and local volunteer opportunities

 

 

WEEKLY VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

11 July 2018

NEW AND UPCOMING

The Salvation Army Kroc Center
Annual Kroc & Roll Sunset Race
At the
Golden Nugget Casino
Saturday, 14 Jul 2018
5:00 p.m. 10:00 p.m.
Seeking 8-10 individuals to help man water stations,
and serve as potential race officials
For more information pleasecontact:
Zach Rhodes 228-207-2303,
zach_rhodes@uss.salvationarmy.org


USO Gulf Coast
Hosts
Red, White, & You Festival at Jones Park
for our Service Members and their Families
15 Jul 2018
12:00 – 2:00 p.m. to help set up
2:00 –6:00 p.m. to assist during the event
6:00 – 8:00 p.m. to help with clean up
Volunteer on line at:
http://www.Volunteers.uso.org
For more information please contact:
Nicole Lewis, 228-248-0533,
usogulfcoast@uso.org


Mental Health Association of South MS
Hosts
“Don’t Worry Be Happy”
Fund raiser at the Biloxi Civic Center
20 Jul 2018
6:00 p.m. 10:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help with: registration,
Greeters, Ushers, Raffle,  Table/game workers, Gift Card Grab, 
Non-alcohol drink restock, Food runners for food area,
Man Photo Booth, Clear tables,  Restock napkins, etc 
Tear Down at 10pm, help load u-haul
For more information please contact:
Kim Barta, 228-864-6274 ext 112,
kim@msmentalhealth.org


The City of Biloxi
Hosts
The “Blues Over Biloxi” Air Show
at Harrah’s Casino Great Lawn on Hwy 90
21 – 22 Jul 2018
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help with:
Program handouts, checking credentials, roaming ambassadors,
food/beverage patrol, sponsor assistants etc.
(Individuals & group volunteers welcome!)
For more information please contact:
Jerry Taranto, 228-313-5516 (please text for faster response)
jstbiloxi@gmail.com


“Mississippi Aviation Heritage Museum”
Be a part of Creating a
Military Aviation Museum for the Gulf Coast!!!
The Brown Condor Association
is seeking your help to make this dream of a creating a
local Aviation Museum a reality.
Any type of assistance you may be able to provide is welcome!
Whether it be constructing, moving, cleaning, painting, electrical…
The Brown Condor needs your help at the former “Rooms to Go” building
at Pass Road and C Ave in Gulfport.
For more information please contact:
Jimmy Carter, 251-599-0156
Francisco Gonzalez, 601-299-2816


Inaugural-Harrison County Sheriff’s Office
Children’s Fishing Rodeo
Saturday, 15 Sep 2018
7:30 a.m.
Seeking individuals to help children register,
rig fishing equipment, bait hooks, un-hook fish.
Volunteers can pre-register on the
Harrison County Sheriff’s Office Facebook page.
For more information please contact:
Evan Hubbard 228-896-0677,
evan.hubbard@harrisoncountysheriff.com


Ainsley's Angels
“Spread Your Wings 5K”
5K Road Race & 5K Virtual Race
Saturday 29 Sept 2018
4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help at registration tables, equipment set up,
water stops, start and finish line, food and merchandise tables.
For more information please contact:
SrA Barbara Cordero 915-383-6404,
Barbara.a.cordero2.mil@mail.mil
SrA Quinton Creach, quinton.j.creach.mil@mail.mil

ON BASE RECURRING OPPORTUNITIES

Keesler AFB Thrift Shop
“Helping raise funds for Charities and Scholarships”
Monday’s/Wednesday’s/Friday’s
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help sort/display donated items,
man front desk, and help maintain the shop, etc.…
For more information please contact:
Teressa Vieira 813-244-7246
Thrift Shop 228-377-3217
** Or message us on our Face Book “Keesler Thrift Shop” page


Keesler AFB Airman’s Attic
“Helping Provide Donated Items to Our E6s and Below Who are in Need”
Mondays:   4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Wednesdays: 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help sort/display donated items, man front desk,
customer verification, item tracking, and help maintain the facility, etc.…
For more information please contact:
MSgt Chontee Surber, 228-376-0512,
chontee.surber@us.af.mil
MSgt Deanna Beasley, 228-377-4330, deanna.beasley@us.af.mil
TSgt Lisandra Jones, 228-377-0049,
lisandra.jones@us.af.mil
A1C Deja Waters, 228-376-0511, deja.waters@us.af.mil
A1C Jene' C. Louis 228-376-5017, jene.c.louis.mil@mail.mil


Coaches Needed at the
Keesler AFB Youth Programs
Make a difference by becoming a Youth Sports Coach today 
Applications available at the Youth Center Bldg. 6801
And online at:
https://keesler81fss.us/YC.html
For more information please contact:
Mr. Jelani Robinson, 228-377-3372,
jelani.robinson@us.af.mil


Armed Services Blood Program Center
Located in the Arnold Hall Complex.
Walk-ins 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Are in constant need of blood to send service members overseas /down range
For more information please contact:
Ms. Lisa Lynn 228-376-6106,
lisa.a.lynn4.civ@mail.mil


PWOC - Praying Protestant Women of the Chapel
Monthly Fellowship Ministry Triangle Chapel Annex
First Saturday of each month
8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help Greet, set-up, clean up, event decorating,
some technology tasks (advancing slides) and similar duties.
For more information please contact:
Florence Clay, 228-209-0036,
florence.clay@us.af.
Paulette Powell, 228-380-6768,
Paulette.powell43@gmail.com


The Keesler Bowling Center
Special Needs Bowling League
Saturday Mornings - Now thru 30 May 2018
9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Seeking individuals to help support the Special Needs Bowlers Program.
For more information please contact:
Bart Bosarge, 228-377-2817,
barton.bosarge.1@us.af.mil  
       
Keesler Medical Center
The Medical Center has opportunities for
Dependents (over 21) and Retirees
Help needed in a variety of areas including:
Info Desk/Patient Escort Chaplain’s Office
Main Pharmacy/BX Pharmacy
MDG Volunteer Office
For more info and how to apply please contact:
Ms. Usa Jones, 228-376-3415,
usa.jones.1@us.af.mil


MILITARY AFFILIATED

The Armed Forces Retirement Home
1800 Beach Drive, Gulfport
Seeking individuals to help at the following events:
14 July 2018 - Valor Bingo, 0930-1100
16 July 2018 - Banana Split Ice Cream Social 1300-1530
July 16-18 Resident Survey - 2 shifts, 0830-1500
24 July 2018 - Nature Stroll, 0800-1030
24 July 2018 Bowling w/Spare Time Bowlers, 1300-1500
26 July 2018 - Bowling with Valor & Loyalty, 1230-1500
27 July 2018 - Wal-Mart trip/Lunch at Joe's Italian,
For more information please contact 0900-1430
26 July 2018 - Piano Bar with Ruth, 1230-1500
16-18 July 2018 – computer data entry, 0830-1130 and 1300-1530
31 July 2018 Bowling w/Spare Time Bowlers, 1300-1500
For more information please contact:
SrA Barbara Cordero  228-376-6000,
barbara.a.cordero2.mil@mail.mil


Sablich Center Customer Support
Monday’s – Thursday’s
8:00 a.m. -1100 a.m.  AND 12:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help answer phone, answer general questions
or transfer call to appropriate representative, take accurate messages.
Greet customers as they enter and assist them with their needs.
For more information please contact:
MSgt Latrice Harris, 228-376-8402,
latrice.harris.1@us.af.mil


Airman’s Council
Get involved in the Air Force community
1st Tuesday’s of the month, at 3:30 p.m.
on the third floor of the Bay Breeze Event Center
For more information please contact:
President: SrA Brianna Hogan,
brianna.hogan.2@us.af.mil
Vice President: A1C Hannah Reichert,  hannah.reichert@us.af.mil


Air Force Sergeant’s Association
Keesler Professional Development Center, Bldg. #2902, Room 121
Monthly Meetings - 1st Thursday of each month 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
For more information please contact:
Mr. Daniel Kazumura, 228-376-8124,
daniel.kazumura.1@us.af.mil
TSgt Zachary Bartlett, 228-377-5027,
zachary.bartlett@us.af.mil
SrA Jasmine Freshwater, 228- 376-8713, jasmine.freshwater@us.af.mil
SMSgt Tiwanda Wilson, 228-376-8165, tiwanda.wilson.1@us.af.mil


Keesler 5/6 Council
3rd Wednesday’s 11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Multiple on/off base volunteer/leadership opportunities for 
SSgt through TSgts.
For more information please contact:
TSgt Cassandra Cruz at
cassandra.cruz@us.af.mil
TSgt MeShanda Lopez at
meshanda.lopez@us.af.mil


Keesler 5/6 Council
“After Tech Panel”
Friday’s, 8:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
SSgt through TSgts needed to mentor
newly assigned tech school Airmen.
Mentorship Panels held at the Levitow building, room 221
For more information or to sign up please contact:
SSgt Roz Beeston at
roz.beeston@us.af.mil
SSgt Victor Mancaruso at victor.mancaruso@us.af.mil


OFF BASE RECURRING VOLUNTEER
OPPORTUNITIES

Feeding the Gulf Coast
Has an ongoing need for food sorting assistance
Monday - Friday
8:30-11:30 or 12:30-3:30
Visit their website:
www.feedingthegulfcoast.org
For more information please contact:
Missy Busby-251-653-1617,
mbusby@feedingthegulfcoast.org

Habitat for Humanity
ReStore Mississippi Gulf Coast at 8022 Hwy 49
Tuesday’s – Saturday’s
Anytime between 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Has an ongoing need for assistance with accepting donation items.
Merchandising, assisting customers, truck assistance to help pick
up donated items, refurbishing FURNITURE (wood working, electrical).
For more information please contact:
Angela Singletary, 228-678-9110,
volunteer@hfhmgc.org


USO Gulf Coast
Gulfport Airport and Gulf Coast-NCBC Locations
Any day of the week,
Any time between 10:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals for On-Going Need
to assist as: a host to offer snacks/beverages,
assistant to sign out game equipment, 
and as general help at the center.
Approximate 4 hour shifts.
Volunteer on line at:
http://www.Volunteers.uso.org
For more information please contact:
Nicole Lewis, 228-248-0533,
usogulfcoast@uso.org


American Red Cross
Upcoming Blood Drives
Seeking individuals to greet & register donors,
ensure canteen area is clean & restocked, serve water/juice to
keep donors hydrated during & after donation procedure.
For more information please contact:
Tomekia Rush, 334-399-6622,
Tomekia.Rush@redcross.org


Camp Wilkes Youth Camp
“Building healthy Communities”
Need individuals to help with improvements, painting, maintaining trails,
buildings, picnic areas, raking, clearing for reforestation…
For more information please contact:
Phil Seymour 228-388-3736,
info@campwilkesinc.org


Bethel Free Health Clinic
Seeking Physicians, Nurses, Licensed Social Workers
and volunteers to assist with all clinic functions.
For more information please contact:
Judy Jones 228-594-3640 or 228-697-2278,
Bethelkatclinic@gmail.com
Note: If by e-mail, please put “Attention Judy” in subject line


Beauvoir the Jefferson Davis Home
& Presidential Home Library
Has an ongoing need for assistance with:
gardening/pulling weeds, clearing walkways,
removal of fence, Bayou clean up, repairing our nature walk.
For more information please contact:
Bobby Sue Koch, 228-388-4400 ext.: 217,
bkoch@beauvoir.org

HELPING CHILDREN & WOMEN

Gulf Coast Center for Non-Violence
Usher at Friday and Saturday Evening
Concerts & Pool Parties!
6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
All proceeds go to help battered women, children,
and the elderly in our community
Golden Nugget Casino POC:
Dan Kazumura, 262-308-9923,
kazumurad@yahoo.com
IP Casino POC:
Paul Ahlberg 228-263-0044,
paul.ahlberg.1@us.af.mil


Mississippi Coast Special Needs
Soccer Association
Needs Coaches, Assistant Coaches
A non-profit org which provides a fun, safe
environment for anyone w/special needs
For more information please contact:
Allen Pilcher, 228-860-3903,
dyso2003@yahoo.com
A1C Deborah Fair, deborah.fair@us.af.mil


Boys and Girls Club Gulf Coast
D’Iberville Boys and Girls Club
Gulf Coast Mentorship “Youth Pact”
Seeking mentors to help enable all young people,
especially those who need us most to reach their
full potential as productive, caring responsible citizens.
For more information please contact:
Juan Jordan 810-449-1558,
jjordan@bgcgulfcoast.org


Harrison County Fire Dept.
Seeking Volunteer Fire Fighters, EMTs,
Paramedics and Support Personnel
to serve in the North Woolmarket Fire District, and surrounding areas.
For more information please contact:
Ronald Davis 228-396-9329,
eharrisonfire@co.harrison.ms.us


Do you have a volunteer event
you would like listed on the
Weekly Volunteer Opportunities List?
Please contact:
Ernesto “Al” Alvendia 228-377-5346,
ernesto.alvendia.2@us.af.mil

 

Contact Information

For more information about volunteering on or off base call the Keesler Volunteer Office at the numbers below.

COMM: 228-377-5346

DSN:597-5346