On base and local volunteer opportunities

WEEKLY VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES


30 Nov 2018

NEW AND UPCOMING


D’Iberville High School
Seeking Proctors for State Testing
4 Dec 18 through 14 Dec 18
7:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
D’Iberville High School is requesting volunteers to help proctor and monitor
hallways during state testing. All volunteers must come for a 20 min.
test training session the 1ST morning you plan to volunteer.
Service Hour Certificates given each day as needed and/or totals for each branch of military.
To sign up please contact Ms. Gracie King at
gking@harrison.k12.ms.us
at least 2 days prior to the day you would like to volunteer.
We are having trouble getting ‘gmail’ emails so if you did not get a confirmation email back
then please call (228) 392-2678.
For more information please contact:
Gracie King 228-392-2678,
gking@harrison.k.12.ms.us
*e-mail is best way to contact her



Combat Wounded Veterans of South MS
Annual Combat Vet Christmas Party Wednesday, 5 Dec 18
3:00 p.m.
Seeking assistance to help set up, help children with games,
present toys with Santa, and to help with cleanup.
For more information please contact:
Donna Anderson 228-348-0643,
donna@cwvsm.org


Christmas in the Park
Keesler Marina Park
Thursday, December 6
4:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Requesting help with behind the scenes support, heavy lifting, gate guarding,
volunteers to wear holiday character costumes(provided).
Also, to hand out candy to kids, directing parking, and assist with Clean up Patrol.
For more information please contact:
Emily Williams 228-377-0002,
emily.williams.14@us.af.mil


Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church
255 Beauvoir Rd. Biloxi MS
International Christmas Festival & Pastry Sale
Cuisine of Greece, Russia, Ukraine, Romania,
Moldova, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan,
Germany, Hungary, Belarus, and America.
Saturday, 8 Dec 18
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Request help in set up, assisting at booths and help with teardown.
For more information please contact:
George Yurchak, 228-860-3376,
georgeyurchak@yahoo.com


D’Iberville High School
State Testing Proctors
4 Dec 18 – 14 Dec 18
7:45 a.m. - 12:30 a.m.
Seeking assistance with actively monitoring students during testing.
Requesting at least 10 volunteers to help proctor during the State Testing.
For more information please contact:
Ms. Gracie King, 228-392-2678,
gking@harrison.k12.ms.us


St. Martin Youth Basketball League
8:00 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Shifts Available)
Every Saturday
5 Jan 2019 – 2 Mar 2019
Seeking assistance with opening/setting up gym,
assist at scoring table (working clock/stat book), assist at concession stand,
assist with closing gym/general clean up. For more information please contact:
Tyler Manser
228-282-0932mansertyler@gmail.com


ON BASE RECURRING OPPORTUNITIES


The Keesler AFB Youth Program’s
Keystone Dragon Club
Is seeking volunteer TUTORS at the Youth Center for 7th thru 12th for:
Math, Sciences, English, History & Geography
Monday-Thursday 4pm-5pm
If interested please P/U volunteer packet at the
Youth center For more information please contact:
Shelena Gray, 228-377-4116,
Shelena.gray@us.af.mil


Keesler AFB Thrift Shop
Help raise funds for Charities and Scholarships
Monday’s/Wednesday’s/Friday’s 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help sort/display donated items,
man front desk, and help maintain the shop, etc.…
For more information please contact: Teressa Vieira 813-244-7246
Thrift Shop 228-377-3217
** Or message us on our Face Book “Keesler Thrift Shop” page


Keesler AFB Airman’s Attic
Help Provide Donated Items to Our E-6s and Below Who are in Need
Mondays: 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Wednesdays: 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help sort/display donated items, man front desk, customer verification, item tracking, and help maintain the facility, etc.… For more information please contact:
MSgt Chontee Surber, 228-376-0512,
chontee.surber@us.af.mil
MSgt Deanna Beasley, 228-377-4330, deanna.beasley@us.af.mil
TSgt Lisandra Jones, 228-377-0049,
lisandra.jones@us.af.mil
A1C Deja Waters, 228-376-0511, deja.waters@us.af.mil
A1C Jene' C. Louis 228-376-5017, jene.c.louis.mil@mail.mil


Coaches Needed at the
Keesler AFB Youth Programs
Make a difference by becoming a Youth Sports Coach today
Applications available at the Youth Center Bldg. 6801
And online at:
https://keesler81fss.us/YC.html
For more information please contact:
Mr. Jelani Robinson, 228-377-3372,
jelani.robinson@us.af.mil

PWOC - Praying Protestant Women of the Chapel
Monthly Fellowship Ministry Triangle Chapel Annex
First Saturday of each month 8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help greet, set-up, clean up, event decorating, some technology tasks (advancing slides) and similar duties.
For more information please contact: Florence Clay, 228-209-0036,
florence.clay@us.af.
Paulette Powell, 228-380-6768,
Paulette.powell43@gmail.com

Armed Services Blood Program Center
Located in the Arnold Hall Complex.
Walk-ins 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Are in constant need of blood to send
service members overseas /down range For more information please contact:
Ms. Lisa Lynn 228-376-6100,
lisa.a.lynn4.civ@mail.mil

Keesler Medical Center
The Medical Center has opportunities for Dependents (over 21) and Retirees
Help needed in a variety of areas including: Info Desk/Patient Escort
Chaplain’s Office
Main Pharmacy/ BX Pharmacy MDG Volunteer Office
For more info and how to apply please contact:
Ms. Usa Jones, 228-376-3415,
usa.jones.1@us.af.mil


MILITARY AFFILIATED

Sablich Center Customer Support
Monday – Thursday
8:00 a.m. -1100 a.m.
AND/OR
12:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals to help answer phone, answer general questions or transfer
call to appropriate representative, take accurate messages.
Greet customers as they enter and assist them with their needs.
For more information please contact:
MSgt Latrice Harris, 228-376-8402,
latrice.harris.1@us.af.mil


Airman’s Council
Get involved in the Air Force community
1st Tuesday of the month at 3:30 p.m.
on the third floor of the Bay Breeze Event Center
For more information please contact:
President: SrA Brianna Hogan,
brianna.hogan.2@us.af.mil
Vice President: A1C Hannah Reichert, hannah.reichert@us.af.mil


Keesler 5/6 Council
3rd Wednesday 11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.
Multiple on/off base volunteer/leadership opportunities for
SSgts and TSgts.
For more information please contact:
TSgt Cassandra Cruz at
cassandra.cruz@us.af.mil TSgt MeShanda Lopez at meshanda.lopez@us.af.mil


Air Force Sergeant’s Association
Air Force Sergeants Association Chapter 652
Keesler Professional Development Center, Bldg.
#2902, Room 121 Monthly Meetings - 1st Thursday of each month 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
For more information please contact:
Mr. Daniel Kazumura, 228-376-8124,
daniel.kazumura.1@us.af.mil
SSgt Jasmine Freshwater, 228-376-8713,
jasmine.freshwater@us.af.mil
SrA Gary Jeffrey, 228-376-4815,
gary.g.jeffrey.mil@mail.mil
For current Information,
check our Facebook page: AFSA Chapter 652 Keesler


Keesler 5/6 Council
“After Tech Panel”
Friday’s, 8:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
SSgts and  TSgts needed to mentor
newly assigned tech school Airmen.
Mentorship Panels held at the Levitow building, room 221
For more information or to sign up please contact:
SSgt Roz Beeston,
roz.beeston@us.af.milSSgt
SSgt Victor Mancaruso, victor.mancaruso@us.af.mil

OFF BASE RECURRING VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Deaconess Hospice in Biloxi
Come put a smile on someone
Has an ongoing, open invitation to come and spend some time with the patients
at the facility or, to help out in the office
with filing and putting information packets together.
Open to any day of the week and at any time you
are available For more information please contact:
Iona Ramsey 228-435-2265,
Iona.Ramsey@lhcgroup.com


Mississippi Aviation Heritage Museum
Be a part of Creating a
Military Aviation Museum for the Gulf Coast!!!
The Brown Condor Association
is seeking your help to make this dream of a creating
a local Aviation Museum a reality.
Any type of assistance you may be able to provide
is welcome! Whether it be constructing, moving, cleaning, painting, electrical…
The Brown Condor needs your help at the former
“Rooms to Go” building at Pass Road and C Ave in Gulfport.
For more information please contact: Jimmy Carter, 251-599-0156
Francisco Gonzalez, 601-299-2816


Habitat for Humanity
ReStore Mississippi Gulf Coast at 8022 Hwy 49 Tuesday – Saturday
Anytime between 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Has an ongoing need for assistance with accepting donation items.
Merchandising, assisting customers, truck assistance to help pick
up donated items, refurbishing FURNITURE (wood working, electrical).
For more information please contact:
Angela Singletary, 228-678-9110,
volunteer@hfhmgc.org

USO Gulf Coast
Gulfport Airport and Gulf Coast-NCBC Locations Any day of the week,
Any time between 10:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Seeking individuals for On-Going Need
to assist as: a host to offer snacks/beverages, assistant to sign out game equipment,
and as general help at the center.
Approximate 4 hour shifts.
Volunteer on line at:
http://www.Volunteers.uso.org
For more information please contact:
Nicole Lewis, 228-248-0533,
usogulfcoast@uso.org


Feeding the Gulf Coast
Has an ongoing need for food sorting assistance
Monday - Friday
8:30-11:30 or 12:30-3:30
Visit their website:
www.feedingthegulfcoast.org
For more information please contact:
Missy Busby 251-653-1617,
mbusby@feedingthegulfcoast.org

American Red Cross
Upcoming Blood Drives
Seeking individuals to greet & register donors,
ensure canteen area is clean & restocked,
serve water/juice to keep donors hydrated during & after donation procedure.
For more information please contact:
Tomekia Rush, 334-399-6622,
Tomekia.Rush@redcross.org


Camp Wilkes Youth Camp
“Building healthy Communities”
Need individuals to help with improvements, painting,
maintaining trails, buildings, picnic areas, raking, clearing for reforestation…
For more information please contact:
Phil Seymour 228-388-3736,
info@campwilkesinc.org

Bethel Free Health Clinic
Seeking Physicians, Nurses, Licensed Social Workers
and volunteers to assist with all clinic functions.
For more information please contact:
Judy Jones 228-594-3640 or 228-697-2278,
Bethelkatclinic@gmail.com
Note : If by e-mail, please put “Attention Judy” in subject line


Beauvoir the Jefferson Davis Home & Presidential Home Library
Has an ongoing need for assistance with:
gardening, pulling weeds, clearing walkways,
Bayou clean up, repairing our nature walk.
For more information please contact:
Bobby Sue Koch, 228-388-4400 ext.: 217,
bkoch@beauvoir.org


HELPING CHILDREN & THOSE IN NEED


Gulf Coast Center for Non-Violence
Usher at Friday and Saturday Evening
Concerts & Pool Parties!
6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
All proceeds go to help battered women, children, and the elderly in our community
Golden Nugget Casino POC: Dan Kazumura, 262-308-9923,
kazumurad@yahoo.com
IP Casino POC: Paul Ahlberg 228-263-0044, paul.ahlberg.1@us.af.mil


Mississippi Coast Special Needs Soccer Association
Needs Coaches, Assistant Coaches
A non-profit org which provides a fun, safe environment for anyone w/special needs
For more information please contact:
Allen Pilcher, 228-860-3903,
dyso2003@yahoo.com
A1C Deborah Fair, deborah.fair@us.af.mil


Boys and Girls Club Gulf Coast
D’Iberville Boys and Girls Club Gulf Coast
Mentorship “Youth Pact”
Seeking mentors to help enable all young people,
especially those who need us most to reach their
full potential as productive, caring responsible citizens.
For more information please contact:
Juan Jordan 810-449-1558,
jjordan@bgcgulfcoast.org
Harrison County Fire Dept.
Seeking Volunteer Fire Fighters, EMTs,
Paramedics and Support Personnel
to serve in the North Woolmarket Fire District, and surrounding areas.
For more information please contact:
Ronald Davis 228-396-9329,
eharrisonfire@co.harrison.ms.us


 
Do you have a volunteer event
you would like listed on the
Weekly Volunteer Opportunities List?
Please contact:
Ernesto “Al” Alvendia 228-377-5346,
ernesto.alvendia.2@us.af.mil

Contact Information

For more information about volunteering on or off base call the Keesler Volunteer Office at the numbers below.

COMM: 228-377-5346

DSN:597-5346